Grace Sun Selected for Prestigious Award


Contact Jonathan Baynham
Telephone 504-834-3433


Grace Sun wins up to $75,000 for graduate school,
Gabriella Taylor and Emily Bush win up to $25,000 for graduate school,
and ten high school students from Louisiana, Mississippi, and Alabama are introduced as Emmy Noether Scholars.
Metairie, LA, May 29, 2020– The Joe W. and Dorothy Dorsett Brown Foundation is pleased to announce Grace Sun as their gold medalist for the 2020 Emmy Noether Awards. Grace, a graduating senior from Caddo Parish Magnet High School in Shreveport LA will be awarded up to $75,000 for qualified graduate level research program and will be inducted as a 2020 Emmy Noether Scholar. Gabriella Taylor, a graduating senior at the Alabama School of Mathematics and Science in Mobile AL, and Emily Bush, a graduating senior at Baton Rouge Magnet High School in Baton Rouge LA, are the 2020 Silver Medalists. Both silver medalists will be awarded up to $25,000 for a qualified graduate level research program and will be inducted as 2020 Emmy Noether Scholars.

Linda Arnoldus from the Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science in Columbus MS, Helene Girard from Alfred M. Barbe High School in Lake Charles LA, Catherine Iseminger from Cathedral High School in Natchez MS, Emily Kraus from Patrick F. Taylor Science and Technology Academy in Avondale LA, Miccaella Lejwa from Hutchison School in Memphis TN, Amanda Waelde from Haynes Academy for Advanced Studies in Metairie LA, and Jennifer Webb from Benjamin Franklin High School in New Orleans LA will all be inducted into the 2020 Emmy Noether Scholar class.

The 2020 Emmy Noether Scholars aspire to become leaders in STEM research careers. These prestigious students are working to become astrophysicists, civil engineers, geneticists, aeronautical engineers, ecologists, computer engineers, physician-scientists (MD-PhD), and medical research scientists. In 2020, the Emmy Noether Scholar’s average ACT score is a 34 and GPA is 3.95 (on a 4.0 scale). Our scholars will be attending a diverse array of universities such as Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Texas A&M, Johns Hopkins University, Mississippi State University, Tulane University, Duke University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of Alabama in Birmingham, University of Notre Dame, and the University of Michigan.

Unfortunately, due to COVID-19 concerns the Brown Foundation cancelled it’s 2020 Emmy Noether Award Ceremony on August 4th at the Louisiana Cancer Research Center in New Orleans, LA. Each student will receive a certificate in the mail and be honored at the 2021 Emmy Noether Award Ceremony.

About the Emmy Noether Awards: The Emmy Noether Awards seek top aspiring female research scientists in any STEM (science, technology, engineering, or math) field to help realize their potential careers through financial and networking assistance. Each year the Emmy Noether Awards determine one gold medalist, two silver medalists, and up to 10 Emmy Noether Scholars. The gold medalist will be awarded up to $75,000 ($25,000 for each year they are in a qualified graduate level program up to 3 years). The two silver medalists will each be awarded up to $25,000 ($5,000 for each semester they are in a qualified graduate school research program). The Emmy Noether Scholars will join a network of young female aspiring research scientists and will be offered information on internship and networking opportunities.

About the Foundation: The Joe W. and Dorothy Dorsett Brown Foundation works to alleviate human suffering. Based in Metairie, the Brown Foundation primarily serves the Gulf South but also supports quality programs throughout the United States. The Foundation believes in feeding the hungry, sheltering the homeless, and developing new treatments for the sick while assisting with community benefit and human interest programs. The Brown Foundation also directs four educational initiatives: The Emmy Noether Scholars program, a summer camp program, a service learning program that promotes service learning in K-12 schools in Louisiana and Mississippi and a STEM program that supports K-12 STEM curriculum development in Louisiana and Mississippi schools.