Caddo Magnet Sweeps 2020 Region I Science Fair

March 8, 2020

The following students competed in the 2020 Louisiana Region I Science and Engineering Fair and placed within their categories as indicated.  Students with an asterisk are eligible to compete at the Louisiana State Science and Engineering Fair to be held March 18th at LSU Baton Rouge.   Special Awards are noted in the far right column. Caddo Magnet won the 1st place Sweepstakes Award. Additionally, 3rd, 2nd, and 1st places overall went to Cole & Quintan Ajluni, Emma Dong,, and Ashini Modi, respectively.  These students will represent Caddo Magnet at the 2020 International Science and Engineering Fair to be held May 11-16 in Anaheim, CA. Please congratulate all of these students on jobs well done.

Category Student Place Award
Animal Sciences Elijah Burks 1*
Sonya Patel 2
Behavioral & Social Sciences Merritt Shemwell & Sophie Wiener 1* Women’s & Children’s Center for Mental Wellness Award
Ruhani Sachdeva 2*
Biochemistry Luke Crittell 1*
Autumn Sommers 2*
Biomedical Engineering Joseph Clary 1*
Biomedical & Health Sciences Sharon Li 1*
Cellular & Molecular Biology Grace Sun 1*
Chemistry Raj Letchuman* 1* American Chemical Society Award
Sara Oberle 2*
Computational Biology & Bioinformatics Kyle McGee 1*
Caymen Hawkins 2*
Earth & Environmental Sciences Diya Desai 1* Society for Science and the Public Community Innovation Award ($500), American Geological Society Award, Stockholm Junior Water Award, GENIUS Award
Sarah Johnson 3 Arklatex Gem Society Award ($300),American Geological Society Award, Stockholm Junior Water Award 
Energy:  Sustainable Materials & Design Eshika Tandon* 1*
Mina King 2*
Engineering Mechanics Cole & Quintan Ajluni 1* US Navy Award
Morgan Conduff 2*
Environmental Engineering Pooja Veerareddy 1* American Meteorological Society Award, Keep Bossier Beautiful Award
Materials Science Emma Dong 1*
Nikita Takalkar 2
Mathematics Calvin Alexander 1* Mu Alpha Theta Award
Microbiology Aila Yurochko 1*
Physics & Astronomy Ahini Modi 1*
Nhi Dao 2* American Geological Society Award
Plant Sciences Pranshu Khanna* 1* Society for in vitro Science Award
Abigail Nickelson 3
Systems Software John Nelson 1*
Jazmyn Mason 2*
Translational Medicine Ashleyn Malik 1*
Ravdeep Warar 2*
Eshaan Tandon 3